“Raider Fans Are Unique; Outrage Over ESPN Sport Reporter Britt McHenry & a 2nd Incident Emerges; and My Own Run In With a Yahoo Reporter”

britt_mchenry

“Raider Fans Are Unique; Outrage Over ESPN Sport Reporter Britt McHenry and a 2nd Incident Emerges; and My Own Run In With a Yahoo Reporter”

Raider fans are always there for each other.

From fundraisers, to support with tragedy, to straight up money. Over the years I’ve seen Raider fans do some amazing things for each other.  It’s just a special thing to be a member of the Oakland Raider family; some people will never understand it.  You may have a team but we have a family.

I remember speaking at a conference back east. I was invited to a fancy buffet and after dinner drink party that night with mostly people from the east coast including many from New York, especially Manhattan.

I’ve dealt with a lot of people from Manhattan and they can be rough.  (In fact this isnt a knock on New Yorkers; this could be anywhere in the U.S. really). I blocked a few on Facebook because they were embarrassingly arrogant and self absorbed.  You are seeing more and more people these days with this, “I’m better than everybody else complex”.  Paris Hilton would be proud.

Anyway, one of the doctors and his young female friends were talking about how amazing it was to be a New York Giants fan and how sophisticated the fans were. They asked me who I followed and I said I was a Raiders fan.   Many laughed and said, “don’t you feel uncomfortable rooting for a team that is so ghetto?”. I asked them what they meant and they said it seemed like most Raider fans were middle to lower class, vulgar and they belonged more in a burger joint than in a nice restaurant.

A lack of confidence has never been a weakness of mine so I laughed and said, “First of all I like a burger sometimes; especially with bacon; and second of all what’s wrong with good hard working people who love their families?”

I was kind of taken aback to be real. Many bragged about how rich they were and one even bragged about the Mercedes he just bought. I said that it was a pretty nice car and another young woman quipped, I have one too. I said, “you have one too?”. She laughed and said, “doesn’t everyone?”.

It made me realize that there really is a class warfare going on in our society. It also reminded me why I’ve always enjoyed the diversity in the Oakland Raiders fan base. No fan base has as many different people than the Oakland Raiders.  It doesn’t matter what color you are, or how much money you have, because we all are on the same team. You may think that’s the norm but it’s not.

I remember also at the convention that one of the nurses that bragged about her Mercedes wanted to get together after the last night of the convention. I told her that I didn’t think it was a good idea for a sophisticated Giants fan from Manhattan to be seen with a ghetto low life Raider fan. She laughed. I didn’t.

I’ve been to many games in many cities and its shocking. In some stadiums you can count the minorities in the stands with two hands.  Many stadiums cater to the rich and they’ve priced out middle class fans and especially poorer ones.

On Monday night I remember being at a store at 11:30 pm. I was exhausted from work and was going in to get some snacks and I saw a woman broken down in an old truck. She had two Raider stickers in the back of her cab.  I could see people avoiding her so they wouldn’t have to help her. No one parked near her. She was near tears and was with a kid. I walked up to her and asked what was the problem and she said her battery was dead. I have a starter in my car (an amazing purchase that everyone should have) and I said I’d start the car. In a few seconds we started her car. When she offered me some money I refused and I smiled and winked and said Raider fans need to stick together.  She just started laughing and said Go Raiders!

As a Raider fan I was taught to respect everyone. Doesn’t matter who they are, what color they are or how much money they have. That’s why yesterdays narcissistic rant by ESPN reporter Britt McHenry berating a tow truck employee was so vile. Funny thing is this wasn’t her first rant and she’s still in her 20’s.  More later.

McHenry is the classic new hire you see at ESPN. She’s a very pretty and educated person, who loves the sound of her own voice and loves getting any and all attention she can get, especially from men.   The classic eye candy that ESPN has gone to. At Fox news I think being blond and pretty is in the job description so they are following suit.  Obviously I’m sure she’s had a lot of breaks and a lot of people helping her along the way.

I remember a local reporter being hired by ESPN. She said instead of being trained on how to do a broadcast or interview, she spent the first two weeks of her employment……GETTING A MAKEOVER!   They dyed her hair blonder and gave her highlights. They told her how to dress and how they were going to do her makeup and she looked different. Much more sexier than she was used to, but it was the NEW ESPN that has shown up in the past 5 years.   Look at all the anchors. Some even wear dresses that you see in clubs.

McHenry I’m sure is used to doing whatever she wants in life. She’s obviously very pretty and these days men practically are holding themselves when they see a pretty girl. Watching men stare down women and lose their minds over a pretty face makes me embarrassed to be a man sometimes.  Women begging for attention and men giving it.  A study last year even showed women who are very pretty or big chested, get better paying jobs.  It’s amazing.  Stay classy.

She is like a lot of tv personalities in that they do google and twitter searches on themselves so they can read what people say about them. Well she read a blog with a young female lawyer who was trying to stick up for women, saying that women should be hired for their talents on television and not their looks. For some reason, the clueless McHenry attacked the woman.   She said she was a model, got a masters in 3 years and was pretty much all that. She again, began to berate the woman saying she was pretty much a jealous low life and that perfect women like Britt did exist.

http://incidentaljustice.blogspot.com/2015/03/i-was-attacked-by-espn-reporter-for.html

Britt McHenry is a part of a big problem at ESPN, sports, and our country. People thinking they are just better than others.   When you think you are better, you lose all compassion for that person.  Britt McHenry was not losing it; she just was showing who she really was. It looked like she left her car there overnight after a date or whatever; and they towed the car.  To bully and cut down another human being acting like you are so much better than she is was atrocious. The second you think you are better than someone, you lose all respect and empathy for them.  Other female reporters are coming out saying McHenry loves to play the,”I’m on ESPN and I’m more important than you are” card an awful lot.

Bill Simmons, the famous reporter stated that the NFL brass and commissioner Roger Goodell lied about the Ray Rice situation. He was right; they did lie. They changed their story 3 times and if it wasn’t for TMZ sports, nothing would have ever happened.

The NFL didn’t like that. A call was made to ESPN and Simmons was suspended for 3 weeks; FOR TELLING THE TRUTH. Britt McHenry was suspended for a week for berating another human being like she was a desperate housewives reality show participant, and the tow company attendant was one of her servants.

ESPN has greatly changed like much of our society unfortunately. The shallowness and pettiness of people is beyond measure.   You see people losing their lives over petty arguments due to adults who can’t control their temper. You see the nastiness online with many vile comments when someone is suicidal and the bullying is still a huge problem online and every where else.

Athletes get passes and excuses from fans for terrible crimes against women because they can play a sport; and celebrities can pretty much do what they want knowing that the courts and society will support them because they are good looking and famous.   It’s sheer madness.

McHenry is a narcissistic bully. She’s gotten by in life due to a pretty face and a killer smile which in today’s society will get you far; very far. That or sex tapes. Ask Kim Kardashian.

I had my run in with a very pretty Yahoo tv sports personality last year. I forget her name but she does the Yahoo fantasy sports.   Sometimes she dresses like she’s going to a club, and once on air I saw her twirling her hair……TWIRLING HER HAIR!

She did a story on a poor young Russian athlete who broke her back and was paralyzed.   The girls friends and family were heartbroken.  During the report for some reason she kept giggling. On twitter people ripped on her and couldn’t believe it. I tweeted her and told her that she just needed to be more professional when telling a sad story; television journalism 101 really. She wrote me back that she was a beautiful person inside and out and that people loved her. She shouldn’t have done that because the twitterverse steam rolled her.

To her credit she apologized for her actions after dozens of people blasted her. She said she realized it was unprofessional and that she needed to think about the stories she was doing and not just read them.   I appreciated her apology but wow; it took people on twitter to teach her that?

Britt McHenry is not going to change. That is who she is. But in my world neither will I. I will continue to respect everyone. One of my famous sayings that I use in speaking is “treat the janitors as good as the CEO’s”. If that is what being a ghetto Raider fan is, then I’m proud to be a part of the hood.

11 thoughts on ““Raider Fans Are Unique; Outrage Over ESPN Sport Reporter Britt McHenry & a 2nd Incident Emerges; and My Own Run In With a Yahoo Reporter””

  1. GREAT STORY!!! But I have to tell you, you ran into the wrong people!!! Did you know that there are some really PASSIONATE Oakland Raider fans in NYC??? There is a bar i Manhattan called Peter Dillons, and the bartender is a DIE-HARD Raider fan! When the Raiders play the Jets, they organize tail-gates in the parking lot. And a group of them flew to Oaktown to attend a game last year and plan to do so again this year! But I know what you are saying … I lived in NYC for three years, and “pedigree” seemed to count for so much …

    Like

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading. I agree totally; yes; there are many raider fans everywhere, including NY. I have about 30-40 New York Raider fans on my twitter. thanks for sharing; they are a good group of people and you can hear the fans on tv when they play the jets lol I agree totally; thanks for the post and have a great weekend! Jim

      Like

  2. As a massive Raiders fan since early childhood and also having lived in NYC (and now SF), there are idiots/bigots everywhere and in every class. I’ve seen people of color no more or less bigoted than white people. I’ve seen lower class people as “classist” as middle and upper class people. There is no shortage of idiots in this world (including in Raiders nation). It seems the poster is just as concerned about class, if not more so, as those he/she criticizes. The issue for our society at large is that decorum/manners have been completely thrown out the window – you can’t take kids to any professional sporting events without vulgarities being constantly shouted by idiots, and the number of angry drunk a##holes is truly astonishing. Raider fans get a bad wrap only in that every stadium has a certain percentage of idiots who don’t belong there and ruin the game for everyone around them.

    Like

  3. You see a lot of teams Pro and College trying to co-opt the term “Nation”. Niners Nation for example BUT there is only one true nation and your article outlines exactly why. Raider Nation!!!!

    Like

  4. I’ve said all along the Raider Nation is a family. The only colors that matter are Silver and Black!
    Al set the tone. “Once a Raider, always a Raider!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

